The Forum will bring together leaders from governments, donors, international organizations, business and academia to foster trade action in Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and inspire deeper collaborations and commitments in support of further LDC integration into global and regional trade.
2018 is a turning point for LDCs and trade, with a growing trade gap between developed nations and the world’s poorest countries and increasing instability in the world economy. The momentum we generate this year must lead to further integration of LDCs into trade at multiple scales into the future.  
At the Forum, leaders and practitioners from around the world will share what they have achieved on trade development in LDCs to date, with Aid for Trade complementing national initiatives, and will commit to doing more to ensure LDCs integrate and benefit from global trade. It will culminate in a call to action to leverage trade to combat poverty and inequality and to create a more inclusive trading system. 
avatar for Joost Pauwelyn

Joost Pauwelyn

Joost Pauwelyn is Professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland and Co-Director of the Institute’s Centre for Trade and Economic Integration (CTEI). Joost specializes in international economic law, in particular trade law and investment law, and its relationship to public international law. He also frequently advises governments and industry in WTO dispute settlement and investment arbitration and is a leading force behind the global www.tradelab.org network of legal clinics on international economic law.

Joost is the author of numerous books and articles on trade law, including a leading text book and, most recently, co-editor of "Assessing the World Trade Organization - Fit for Purpose?" (CUP, 2017) and "The Use of Economics in International Trade and Investment Disputes" (CUP, 2017). Joost is the Co-Editor in Chief of the Journal of International Economic Law.

Prizes received include the Guggenheim Prize in 2005 for his pathbreaking book Conflict of Norms in Public International Law and the Francis Deak Prize, awarded to a younger author for meritorious scholarship published in The American Journal of International Law, for his article on non-discrimination in 2009.